Tupelo, Lee schools host reading fairs

By NEMS Daily Journal

Several Tupelo and Lee County students have been recognized recently for posters they made to demonstrate books they have read.
The Lee County School District held its reading fair Tuesday, and the Tupelo Public School District had its on Wednesday. Students’ poster boards contained artwork, as well as such information as title, author, plot and characters.
Winners from the individual school competitions competed at this week’s district competitions. The winners at the district level will compete at the regional reading fair, which will be held in Oxford at a yet-to-be-announced date.
Winners from Lee County in the individual category include Mooreville Elementary’s Lauren Cates (kindergarten division) and Mitchell Tharp (fourth- and fifth-grade division), Saltillo Primary’s Erin Wigginton (first grade) and Lee Ellen Cherry (second), Saltillo Elementary’s McKinley Montgomery (third), Guntown Middle’s Madison Nanney (sixth to eighth) and Shannon High’s Dorian Young (ninth to 12th).
Lee County winners in the group category were Saltillo Elementary’s Jade Kuykendall and Hardy Smith (kindergarten to third-grade division) and Mooreville Elementary’s Sydney Spearman, Anna Claire Tate, Allison Stults, Kara Anderson, Taylor Griffin and Halle Roberts (fourth to eighth).
Winners in the family category were Saltillo Elementary’s Drew Leslie (kindergarten to third) and Mooreville Middle’s Kaylee Strickland (fourth to eighth).
Tupelo winners in the individual category were Joyner’s Emma Hall (kindergarten) and Mason Winders (second), Carver’s Charlie English (first), Pierce Street’s Rebekah Buzzell (third) and Emily Ann Waters (fourth and fifth) and Tupelo Middle’s George Patterson (sixth to eighth).
Winners from Tupelo in the group category were Parkway’s Walker Cantrell, Cooper Edmonson, Drew Edmonson and Helen Rousseau (kindergarten to third) and Lawhon’s Cate Burroughs and Clair Burroughs (fourth to eighth).
Winners in the family category were Parkway’s Will Flouhouse (kindergarten to third) and Pierce Street’s Sophia Lubos (fourth to eighth). Pierce Street’s Elizabeth Middleton won the nonfiction category for grades four to eight.