Tupelo's Stratton named SEC Pitcher of the Year

By The Associated Press

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. — LSU outfielder Raph Rhymes is the Southeastern Conference baseball player of the year.

League coaches picked Mississippi State’s Chris Stratton as pitcher of the year and Kentucky’s Gary Henderson as coach of the year in results released Tuesday by the SEC.

Wildcats outfielder Austin Cousino is the top freshman and South Carolina’s Michael Roth is scholar-athlete of the year for baseball.

Kentucky opened the season with a school-record 22-game winning streak and won 41 regular-season games, most in the program’s history.

Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.

Florida led the way with three first-team All-SEC picks: Pitcher Steven Rodriguez, designated hitter/utility player Brian Johnson and catcher Mike Zunino.

LSU was the only other team with multiple first-teamers, Rhymes and pitcher Kevin Gausman.

All-SEC baseball teams selected by coaches

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (AP) — All-Southeastern Conference baseball teams as selected by league coaches:


1B – Christian Walker, South Carolina

2B – Alex Yarbrough, Ole Miss

3B – Matt Reynolds, Arkansas

SS – Anthony Gomez, Vanderbilt

C – Mike Zunino, Florida

OF – Raph Rhymes, LSU

OF?- Preston Tucker, Florida

OF – Taylor Dugas, Alabama

DH/UTL – Brian Johnson, Florida

P – Chris Stratton, Mississippi State

P – Kevin Gausman, LSU

RP – Steven Rodriguez, Florida


1B – Matt Snyder, Ole Miss

2B – Bo Bigham, Arkansas

3B – Curt Powell, Georgia

SS – Nolan Fontana, Florida

C – Luke Maile, Kentucky

OF – Austin Cousino, Kentucky

OF – Ryan Tella, Auburn

OF – Mason Katz, LSU

DH – Drew Steckenrider, Tennessee

P – Alex Wood, Georgia

P – Corey Littrell, Kentucky

P – Bobby Wahl, Ole Miss

RP – Matt Price, South Carolina


1B – A.J. Reed, Kentucky

2B – Will Maddox, Tennessee

3B – Josh Tobias, Florida

SS – Joey Pancake, South Carolina

C – Grayson Greiner, South Carolina

OF – Austin Cousino, Kentucky

OF – Tanner English, South Carolina

OF – Hunter Cole, Georgia

OF – Ben Moore, Alabama

DH/UTL – A.J. Reed, Kentucky

P – Aaron Nola, LSU

P – Tyler Beede, Vanderbilt

RP – Jonathan Holder, Mississippi State


P – Ryan Eades, LSU

P – Kendall Graveman, Mississippi State

P – Michael Roth, South Carolina

1B -Dominic Ficociello, Arkansas

2B – Alex Yarbrough, Ole Miss

SS – Nolan Fontana, Florida

3B – Matt Reynolds, Arkansas

C – Mike Zunino, Florida

OF – Evan Marzilli, South Carolina

OF – Taylor Dugas, Alabama

OF – Austin Cousino, Kentucky


PITCHER OF THE YEAR – Chris Stratton, Mississippi State

SEC FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR — Austin Cousino, Kentucky

SEC SCHOLAR-ATHLETE OF THE YEAR – Michael Roth, South Carolina

SEC COACH OF THE YEAR — Gary Henderson, Kentucky

Click video to hear audio