Turner to chair new committee

By Bobby Harrison/NEMS Daily Journal Jackson Bureau

JACKSON – Rep. Jerry Turner, R-Baldwyn, will chair the Mississippi House’s newly created Transparency, Efficiency and Accountability Committee.
Speaker Philip Gunn, R-Clinton, announced the creation of the select committee Monday.
“The first and No. 1 thing we will try to do is to restore the confidence of the people in the Legislature,” said Turner.
“I believe with transparency it opens it all up and makes government more efficient, and by being more efficient it becomes more accountable to the people.”
Gunn said he saw a need to form such a committee to look at “enhancing efficiency in state government.”
He said Turner “had a passion” for the issue. Turner was an early advocate of requiring the state budget and all of its components to be placed online.
Gunn also said he decided to form the committee because Lt. Gov. Tate Reeves changed the Senate Fees and Salaries Committee to the Accountability, Efficiency and Transparency Committee. It is chaired by Sen. Nancy Collins, R-Tupelo.
“Now we have a companion committee,” Gunn said.
Gunn also announced Turner would step down as vice chairman of the Transportation Committee. His spot will be filled by freshman Rep. Steve Massengill, R-Hickory Flat.
Other members of the 12-member Transparency, Efficiency and Accountability Committee include Reps. Tracy Arnold, R-Booneville, and Margaret Ellis Rogers, R-New Albany.
Also, the House Republican majority recently announced its leadership team. Reps. Brian Aldridge, R-Tupelo; Randy Boyd, R-Mantachie; Gray Chism, R-Columbus; and Massengill, who all represent a portion of Northeast Mississippi, will serve as deputy whips.
Gunn is the caucus leader.

Click video to hear audio