Two more qualify for state Senate race

By NEMS Daily Journal

JACKSON – Tupelo City Council member Jonny Davis and hair stylist Melony Armstrong qualified today to run in the state Senate District 6 special election.

Today was the qualifying deadline for the nonpartisan Senate and Transportation Commission special elections set for Jan. 11.

Davis, who represents Ward 5, and Armstrong, also of Tupelo, join four other candidates in the race: Ward 6 Tupelo City Council member Mike Bryan; community activist Nancy Collins of Tupelo; Stacy Scott, a schoolteacher from Sherman; and Saltillo businessman Doug Wright.
The seat became vacant after incumbent Alan Nunnelee was elected to Congress in November.
The Transportation Commission election comes after the Nov. 1 death of Commissioner Bill Minor.
Candidates in that race are John Caldwell of Nesbit, Desoto County Schools transportation director; Tippah County Supervisor Dennis Grisham of Dumas; Joey Hood of Itawamba County, assistant to Northern District highway commissioner; businessman Larry Lee of Grenada; state Rep. Warner McBride of Courtland; Ray Minor of Holly Springs, businessmana and brother of Bill Minor; and Mike Tagert of Starkville, president of the Tenn-Tom Waterway Council

Read more in Saturday’s Northeast Mississippi Daily Journal.

Click video to hear audio