UPDATE: Barbour announces aid for Oktibbeha Co.

By The Associated Press

JACKSON — Gov. Haley Barbour has announced federal assistance for Oktibbeha County residents hit by severe weather April 24.

In a news release on Monday, Barbour says the residents must contact the Federal Emergency Management Agency. Other counties approved for FEMA Individual Assistance programs include Monroe, Union, Attala, Choctaw, Holmes, Warren and Yazoo.

Barbour says there are several programs offered by the federal government, but residents must begin the process by registering for help.

Disaster unemployment, crisis counseling, legal services, food stamps and Small Business Administration loans are among the programs.

A tornado spawned by the April 24 severe weather killed 10 people in the state.

Click video to hear audio