UPDATE: Barbour seeks fed aid for 3 more tornado counties

By The Associated Press

JACKSON — Mississippi Gov. Haley Barbour said Tuesday he has requested federal assistance for three more counties affected by a massive tornado on April 24.

Barbour said he’s seeking public assistance for local governments in Warren, Issaquena and Monroe counties. If approved, the counties could receive federal funding for debris removal and repair of infrastructure.

Attala, Choctaw, Holmes and Yazoo counties have already been approved for federal public assistance.

A news release from Barbour’s office said that all counties qualifying for individual assistance have been approved. They are Oktibbeha, Monroe, Union, Attala, Choctaw, Holmes, Warren and Yazoo counties.

Click video to hear audio