UPDATE: Three from Miss. honored by Obama

JACKSON — Three teachers from Mississippi were among educators and education organizations honored Wednesday by President Obama during a White House ceremony.

Jerzy R. Leszczynski, who teaches chemistry at Jackson State University, received the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring.

Teachers Amy Ellis of Sudduth Elementary School in Starkville and Jeanette Simmons of South Pontotoc Elementary School in Pontotoc County received the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

The ceremony was Obama’s second “Educate to Innovate” Campaign event that aims to encourage excellence in science, technology, engineering and math education.

The awards recognize educators from across the country for excellence in mathematics and science teaching and mentoring.

The Associated Press

Click video to hear audio