Weather prompts school, office closings

djournal-breaking_news_stockDaily Journal

UPDATED 1:19 p.m.

The snow and ice that moved into the area on Monday night and Tuesday morning have prompted many Northeast Mississippi schools to announce closings for Tuesday.


The latest list of those who will be closed on Tuesday includes:

• Aberdeen Schools

• Alcorn County Schools

• Amory Schools

• Baldwyn Head Start

• Baldwyn Schools

• Benton County Schools

• Booneville Schools

• Calhoun County Schools

• Columbus Municipal Schools

• Exypnos Christian Learning Center

• First Baptist Church Tupelo DaySchool and Kindergarten

• Houston Schools (Makeup will be Feb.17)

• Itawamba Community College (Day and evening classes cancelled at all locations – Fulton, Tupelo and Belden)

• Itawamba County Schools

• Lafayette County Schools

• Lee County Schools

• Mississippi State University

• Mississippi University for Women (including those in the Life Enrichment Program)

• Monroe County Schools (Makeup will be Feb. 17)

• Nettleton Schools

• New Albany Schools

• Northeast Mississippi Community College (day classes)

• North Tippah Schools

• Oak Hill Academy

• Oktibbeha County Schools

• Oxford Schools

• Pontotoc City Schools

• Pontotoc County Schools (Makeup will be Feb. 17)

• Prentiss County Schools

• South Tippah Schools

• Tishomingo County Schools

• Tupelo Christian Preparatory School

• Tupelo Schools (For now, makeup date will be Thursday, May 22. Further notifications will be provided as needed)

• Union County Schools

• University of Mississippi (classes cancelled until noon on Tuesday)

• West Point Schools

MSU said it will make an announcement on Tuesday at 3 p.m. about its status for Wednesday. MUW also said it would make an announcement about Wednesday some time on Tuesday.


Non-school closings today:

• Lee County Library and Itawamba County Pratt Memorial Library

• The Lee County courthouse and related governmental office will be closed today. The Lee County garbage collection route scheduled for Tuesday will run on Saturday, Feb. 15.

• Mississippi State Department of Health county health departments and WIC centers will be closed today across Northeast Mississippi, including Alcorn, Benton, Calhoun, Chickasaw, Clay, Itawamba, Lafayette, Monroe, Pontotoc, Prentiss, Tippah, Tishomingo and Union counties. For a full statewide list, click here.

• Prentiss County Courthouse

• Waste Management has suspended all residential collection services in Tupelo for today. All regularly scheduled residential routes will receive service Friday. Commercial collection routes in the areas of Tupelo and Corinth will experience delays today.

• Tupelo Municipal Court

• Hodges orthodontics

• Trustmark Bank offices in Fulton, Oxford and Tupelo

• Community Bank in Amory will close at 12:30 p.m. today

• Tupelo Auto Museum

• Link Centre

• The Dance Studio in Tupelo

Also, North Mississippi State Hospital WRAP training has been canceled.

The Lee County Multipurpose Center for the Elderly in Tupelo, as well as its satellite branches in Verona, Saltillo and the Pratts community, will be closed Wednesday.

Check back to for the latest weather-related closings, as they become available.

You can send announcements of school closings to and

Click video to hear audio