Rebels’ Robertson wins SEC Athlete of the Year award

Ricky Robertson’s storied career as an Ole Miss Rebel only got better this afternoon when he was named Southeastern Conference’s Men’s Field Athlete of the Year. The annual award for the outdoor portion of the sport was voted on by the league coaches.

Robertson, a high jumper and long jumper, captured the Commissioner’s Trophy as the highest points scorer during the recent SEC Track & Field Championships. Robertson, a native of Hernando, won the high jump, finished second in the triple jump and also placed fourth in the long jump.

Thanks in large part to Robertson’s great meet, the Rebels finished fifth overall in the SEC, the highest total in 30 years.

This is the second time in Robertson’s long and illustrious career that he has won such an award. In 2012, he won the SEC Male Field Athlete of the Year award for the indoor season. Robertson was also named to the 2014 first team All-SEC squad. Joining Robertson on that list is fellow teammate, and Oxford native, Sam Kendricks, who won the pole vault title at the SEC Championships. Kendricks was the SEC Male Athlete of the Year in outdoor track following the 2013 season.

Robert Domanic, Sean Tobin and Phillip Young are Rebels who were named to the second team All SEC. Domanic, selected in the 1,500 meter run, and Tobin, who competes in the 5,000 run, are both freshmen and the duo were also selected on to the All-Freshman team. Young is a junior triple jumper.

Robertson and Kendricks will both be back in action at the NCAA East Preliminary Championships in Jacksonville, Fla., which runs Thursday through Saturday.


About John Davis

Eighteen years in the business. Dedicated to providing the best local content for sports. Oxford, Lafayette, Ole Miss, youth sports, outdoors and the things nobody else wants to cover.