Workshop to feature tree protection, ‘edible forest’

The Oxford Tree Board and the Mississippi Urban Forest Council will host a tree workshop for homeowners, property managers, gardeners and horticulture professionals on Saturday at Oxford-University United Methodist Church from 9 to 11 a.m.

The event is free and open to the public.

While the workshop will cover a number of topics and provide answers to tree owners’ questions, two subjects will be presented in greater depth. One will be how to protect Oxford’s trees during severe weather events, from the drought and high heat of some summers to the ice storms that occasional winters will bring, along with thunderstorms, tornadoes, tropical storms and other severe winds.

Another major subject will be fruit trees – “The Edible Forest.”

“The Tree Board is partnering with Oxford Community Gardeners to raise awareness about edible forests and gardens,” said Cowan Hunter, co-chair of the Oxford Tree Board. “Mississippi Urban Forest Council will be donating fruit trees to us for planting this fall.”

Continuing Education Credits are available for landscape architects, master gardeners, arborists and others who attend. Other sponsors include the USDA Forest Service and the Mississippi Forestry Commission.

Today, the same groups will host a presentation for horticultural professionals and officials of Lafayette County, the City of Oxford and the University of Mississippi. Guest speakers will be Donna Yowell of the Mississippi Urban Forest Council and Dr. Buck Abbey, professor at LSU’s School of Landscape Architecture, who will make a presentation about the Forest Council’s model tree storm project and Oxford’s participation in it. Oxford was one of several cities picked to help develop Best Management Practices for conserving trees during storms and other disasters.

Twitter: @oxfordcitizenec

About Errol Castens

I'm a news reporter and columnist for the Daily Journal and the Oxford Citizen. Focusing on Oxford and Lafayette County, I've been a part of the L-O-U community since 1991.