3 finalists named for Howell, Gillom awards

By The Associated Press

JACKSON — Ole Miss’ Murphy Holloway and Marshall Henderson, along with Southern Mississippi’s Dwayne Davis, are the three finalists for the C Spire Howell Trophy.

The award is given to the state’s top men’s college basketball player. Holloway is the Rebels’ all-time leading rebounder while Henderson leads the Southeastern Conference with 19.5 points per game. Davis leads the Golden Eagles with 14.5 points per game.

The finalists for the C Spire Gillom Trophy, which is given to the state’s top women’s player, are Mississippi’s Valencia McFarland, Mississippi State’s Martha Alwal and Southern Miss’ Jamierra Faulkner.

All three players lead their respective teams in scoring, with Faulkner’s 18.7 points per game the highest mark.

The finalists were announced Monday. The winners will be announced on March 11 at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame.

Click video to hear audio