5 finalists named for Ferriss Trophy

By The Associated Press

JACKSON — Five players are finalists for the C Spire Ferriss Trophy, an award that goes to the top college baseball player in Mississippi.

Delta State pitcher John Branstetter, Mississippi catcher Stuart Turner, Southern Miss pitcher Andrew Pierce, Mississippi State outfielder/designated hitter Hunter Renfroe and Ole Miss pitcher Bobby Wahl are finalists for the award.

Branstetter, a senior right-hander, is 19-2 with a 1.68 ERA and 74 strikeouts for the Statesmen. He is also a finalist for the Tino Martinez Award as Division II’s most outstanding player.

Pierce, also a senior right-hander, is 9-1 with a 2.37 ERA and 84 strikeouts for the Golden Eagles.

Renfroe, a junior outfielder/designated hitter for the Bulldogs, leads the SEC in home runs (15) and slugging percentage, and is tied for third in the league with a .390 batting average.

Turner, the Rebels junior catcher, is tied with Renfroe with a .390 average and five home runs, 15 doubles and 46 RBIs.

Wahl, a junior, is 9-0 with a 1.43 ERA, and has never left or finished a game with the Rebels trailing this season.

The Ferriss Trophy is voted on by a 25-member panel that includes college coaches, major league scouts and a media member.

The trophy is named after longtime Delta State head coach Dave “Boo” Ferriss, who played with the Boston Red Sox.

The winner will be announced on May 20 at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum.

Click video to hear audio