ACC has 5 teams selected as NCAA baseball regional hosts

NEW YORK (— Five Atlantic Coast Conference schools — Clemson, Florida State, Georgia Tech, North Carolina and Virginia — have been selected as hosts for the NCAA Division I baseball tournament.

The Pac-10 has three — Arizona State, Oregon State and UCLA. Also with three is the Southeastern Conference — Florida, South Carolina and Vanderbilt.

The sites were announced Sunday for the four-team, double-elimination regionals, which start Friday.

Other hosts include Cal State Fullerton, Rice, TCU, Texas and Texas A&M. All games will be played on campus sites.

Each of the 16 host schools has clinched a spot in the 64-team tournament. The rest of the field is to be announced by the Division I baseball committee Monday.


INDIANAPOLIS – The NCAA Division I Baseball Committee announced the 16 regional sites for the 65th annual NCAA Division I Baseball Championship.

The 16 regional sites, with host institutions and records (through May 28) are as follows:

2011 Regional Hosts City Host Record

Atlanta, Ga. Georgia Tech 40-19

Austin, Texas Texas 43-15

Fullerton, Calif. Cal State Fullerton 39-15

Chapel Hill, N.C. North Carolina 45-14

Charlottesville, Va. Virginia 48-9

Clemson, S.C. Clemson 41-18

College Station, Texas Texas A&M 41-18

Columbia, S.C. South Carolina 45-14

Corvallis, Ore. Oregon State 38-16

Fort Worth, Texas TCU 42-17

Gainesville, Fla. Florida 44-16

Houston, Texas Rice 41-19

Los Angeles, Calif. UCLA 33-21

Nashville, Tenn. Vanderbilt 47-9

Tallahassee, Fla. Florida State 42-16

Tempe, Ariz. Arizona State 38-16

By virtue of being awarded a regional, all 16 host institutions have also been selected to the 64-team field.

Each regional field features four teams, playing in a double-elimination format. All 16 regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, June 3 to Monday, June 6.

Three institutions are hosting for the 20th time or more as Florida State leads the list of schools with 28. Texas is hosting for the 26th time, while this will be the 21st time that Arizona State has hosted a regional. Clemson and South Carolina are hosting for 13th time. Georgia Tech (11th), Cal St. Fullerton (10th) and Florida (10th) are the only other institutions to host 10 or more times since the NCAA went to the regional format in 1975.

Rice is hosting for the ninth time, while Texas A&M is hosting a regional for the seventh time and North Carolina for the sixth time. Virginia is hosting for the fifth time, while Oregon State, TCU and UCLA are hosting for a third time. Rounding out the list is Vanderbilt, hosting for only the second time.

Nine institutions (Arizona State, Cal State Fullerton, Florida, Georgia Tech, South Carolina, Texas, TCU, UCLA and Virginia) also hosted in 2010.

The remaining at-large teams, top-eight national seeds, first-round regional pairings and site assignments will be announced at 12:30 p.m. Eastern time, Monday, May 30. The half-hour program will be shown live on ESPNHD. The committee will set the entire 64-team bracket through both the super regionals and the first round of the Men’s College World Series, and will not reseed the field after play begins.

Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced on, Monday, June 6 at approximately 11 p.m. ET.

There are 30 Division I conferences which will receive an automatic berth in the field of 64, along with 34 at-large selections. The 65th Men’s College World Series begins play Saturday, June 18, at the new TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Omaha, Nebraska.

The Associated Press

Click video to hear audio