Area football players dot all-star rosters

Football stockDaily Journal

Five players from Northeast Mississippi, including Itawamba AHS offensive lineman Ethan Orr, have been selected to play in the Alabama/Mississippi All-Star Football Game scheduled for Dec. 14 in Montgomery, Ala.

Orr is joined by West Point running backs Aeris Williams and Roger Thomas, Lafayette running back D.K. Buford and Oxford kicker Cody Mills.

Northeast Mississippi saw 13 players selected for the annual Bernard Blackwell North/South All-Star Football Game is scheduled for Dec. 21 in Gulfport.

Heading up the list are three players from Tupelo: kicker Reed Bigham, linebacker James Gilleylen and running back Quinn Tiggs.

Joining them on the North roster are: RB Devonta Gates, Baldwyn; WR Sammie Burroughs, Aberdeen, WR Marcus Green, North Pontotoc; OL Tyler Floyd, Booneville; LB Alec Hobson, Ripley; DL Darius Liggins, Oxford; DB Chris Brown, New Albany; DB Lavarious Varnado, Calhoun City; WR Brice Spence, Corinth; ATH Andrew Lambert, Booneville.

The North head coach is West Point’s Chris Chambless. Itawamba’s Toby Collums, New Albany’s Ron Price and Booneville’s Mike Mattox are assistants on the staff.

For complete rosters for all three games, go to:

Click video to hear audio