Chucky Mullins Award Finalists Announced, Banquet Set

By NEMS Daily Journal

OXFORD – The Chucky Mullins Courage Award banquet has been set for Thursday, April 15 at 7 p.m. CT in the Indoor Practice Facility on the Ole Miss campus. Former winner and current Duke assistant coach Derek Jones will serve as speaker for the 21st annual event.
Rebel head coach Houston Nutt announced Thursday the 2010 award finalists are safety Johnny Brown, linebacker Jonathan Cornell, tackle Ted Laurent, end Kentrell Lockett, tackle Jerrell Powe and linebacker Allen Walker.
The winner will be chosen by the Rebel coaching staff and members of the Chucky Mullins Courage Award Banquet Committee. The 2010 Chucky Mullins Courage Award recipient will be announced during the banquet, which is sponsored by Phi Kappa Psi and Phi Beta Sigma fraternities.
This year’s winner will also be recognized during pregame ceremonies of the annual Grove Bowl spring football game, which takes place Saturday, April 17 at 1 p.m. at Vaught-Hemingway Stadium/ Hollingsworth Field.

Click video to hear audio