College World Series Capsules June 17, 2012

By The Associated Press

OMAHA, Neb. — Florida State capitalized on a throwing error to score six runs in the third inning, and the Seminoles ended Stony Brook’s surprise appearance in the College World Series with a 12-2 victory on Sunday.

Justin Gonzalez and Devon Travis homered to help the Seminoles build an early 9-0 lead against the CWS first-timers from Long Island.

FSU (49-16) rebounded from a 4-3, 12-inning loss to Arizona on Friday and scored at least 12 runs for the third time in four games.

Stony Brook (52-15) stunned the college baseball world by upsetting six-time national champion LSU in a three-game super regional to reach the CWS. But the Seawolves were beaten 9-1 by UCLA on Friday and outscored 21-3 in their two games in Omaha.

FSU starter Mike Compton (12-2) allowed two runs and six hits in six innings.

Brandon McNitt (8-4) went 3 2-3 innings and gave up nine runs, four earned. Six of the Seminoles’ 11 hits went for extra bases.


Konner Wade pitched a five-hit shutout, Arizona did its scoring on five straight fourth-inning hits, and the Wildcats beat Pac-12 rival UCLA in the College World Series.

The win put the Wildcats (45-17) in control of Bracket 1 and gave them three days off. They are one victory away from the best-of-three finals, in which they would play for their fourth national championship and first since 1986.

UCLA (48-15), which lost for the first time in 11 games, will face Florida State in an elimination game on Tuesday.

Wade (10-3) outdueled Nick Vander Tuig (10-4), throwing his first career shutout and fifth complete game of the season. It was Arizona’s sixth shutout in 62 CWS games and its first since Craig Lefferts blanked Michigan in 1980.

Seth Mejias-Brean’s bases-loaded single drove in the Wildcats’ first two runs, and Bobby Brown followed with a two-RBI double.

CWS Schedule

Monday, June 18

Game 7 — Kent State (46-19) vs. Florida (47-19), 5 p.m.

Game 8 — Arkansas (45-20) vs. South Carolina (46-17), 9 p.m.

Tuesday, June 19

Game 9 — Florida State (49-16), vs. UCLA (48-15), 8 p.m.

Wednesday, June 20

Game 10 — Game 7 winner vs. Game 8 loser, 8 p.m.

Thursday, June 21

Game 11 — Arizona (45-17) vs. Game 9 winner, 5 p.m.

Game 12 — Game 8 winner vs. Game 10 winner, 9 p.m.

Friday, June 22

x-Game 13 — Game 6 winner vs. Game 9 winner, 5 p.m.

x-Game 14 — Game 8 winner vs. Game 10 winner, 9 p.m.

If only one game is necessary, it will start at 8 p.m.

Championship Series
Sunday, June 24

Game 1 — 8 p.m.
Monday, June 25

Game 2 — 8 p.m.
Tuesday, June 26

x-Game 1 — 8 p.m.

Click video to hear audio