MSU to ‘Permanently’ Honor Football Greats

Mississippi State is making plans to “permanently recognize” former football greats, the school announced today. More specifically, “the players, coaches and those close to the program who are responsible for some of the greatest moments in school history.”

The release didn’t give specifics on just how the former Bulldogs would be honored, but the first class will be announced during halftime of Saturday’s Maroon-White spring game, which starts at 5 p.m. at Davis Wade Stadium.

“This is something we have talked about for a long time, finding a way to permanently recognize the outstanding men who have built Mississippi State football,” athletics director Scott Stricklin said in a statement.

The initial group of four honorees will be formally recognized during the course of the 2011 football season, with the recipients and/or their families being invited back to campus for the ceremonies.

Any guesses on who will or should be in the inaugural class? Beats me, but here are my humble suggestions: Don Magruder Scott, Floyd Davis Wade Sr., Leo Seal and Allyn McKeen. Kinda makes sense when you think about it.

Also, I wonder what form you think the honor should take? Banners? Plaques? A ring of honor? Giant cowbells with the honoree’s image engraved on it?

Click video to hear audio