Depth chart notes | Ole Miss Sports

The depth chart for the season opener against BYU has just been released. A few notes of interest here.

First, the defense lists two linebackers and a “Spur,” which in some places is the term used for the hybrid linebacker-defensive back. The No. 1 Spur is junior college transfer Aaron Garbutt, followed by juco transfer Ivan Nicholas.

Damien Jackson, who has worked at the position, is listed No. 2 at free safety behind Charles Sawyer, who moved to safety from cornerback earlier this month.

Corners on the left side are Marcus Temple, followed by freshman Senquez Golson. The right side has Wesley Pendleton, followed by Vincent Moss.

At linebacker, redshirt freshman Ralph Williams is first on the weak side, ahead of junior Joel Kight and freshman Serderius Bryant. At middle linebacker, sophomore Mike Marry is first, followed by C.J. Johnson and Keith Lewis, both freshmen.

Up front, Jason Jones had been running first team at one end before a setback with his knee. He’s listed third on the first chart behind Wayne Dorsey and Cameron Whigham.

Nose goes Uriah Grant, Bryon Bennett and Gilbert Pena. D Tackle has Justin Smith, followed by Carlton Martin.

Kentrell Lockett is at the other end, followed by Gerald Rivers.

On offense, junior receiver Melvin Harris, slowed by back pain in the last week, isn’t on the chart.

Freshman Donte Moncrief is ahead of Vincent Sanders at split end, Ja-Mes Logan ahead of Nick Brassell at flanker.

Flanker lists four players with Tobias Singleton and and Terrell Grant behind Logan.

It’s an interesting mix at receiver. Harris’ injury thrusts a freshman into a starting role off the bat. There’s an “or” between Logan and Brassell, which means Brassell could start.

At the slot receiver it’s senior Derrick Herman “or” junior college transfer Philander Moore.

Click video to hear audio