Rebels’ Choice Awards | Ole Miss Sports

Today is the first day on the job for new athletics director Ross Bjork. First order of business is a staff meeting.

Bjork seemed to be gearing up for his new beginning yesterday with a new avatar on Twitter.

Bjork was likely part of the Rebels’ Choice Awards banquet at the Ford Center last night. Here are the winners:

Men’s Rookie of the Year: Jarvis Summers, basketball

Women’s Rookie of the Year: Fabia McDonald, track and field

Men’s Community Service Outreach: D.T. Shackelford, football

Women’s Community Service Outreach: Gabby Rangel, tennis

Men’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Chad Bounds, golf

Women’s Scholar Athlete of the Year: Dylan Jordan, soccer

Men’s Hotty Toddy (Spirit) Award: Jason Jones, football

Women’s Hotty Toddy (Spirit) Award: Morgan Springer, volleyball

Men’s Coach of the Year: Joe Walker, track and field

Women’s Coach of the Year: Joe Walker, track and field

Men’s Most Valuable Player: Ricky Robertson, track and field

Women’s Most Valuable Player: Valencia McFarland, basketball

Men’s Team of the Year: track and field

Women’s Team of the Year: track and field


Play of the Year: Katie Breathitt’s record-setting steeplechase

Game of the Year: Baseball defeats defending national champion South Carolina

Fan Favorite: Terrance Henry, men’s basketball

Click video to hear audio