Cowards wins women’s weight throw for MSU

By NEMS Daily Journal

LEXINGTON, Ky. – Mississippi State’s Favion Cowards won the women’s weight throw on Sunday, the final day of the SEC Indoor Track and Field Championship.
It’s the first SEC indoor title for MSU since Tiffany McWilliams won the mile run in 2004. Cowards, a senior from Jackson, won with a best toss of 66 feet, 5 inches.
Ricky Robertson of Ole Miss, a junior who won his third consecutive league high jump title and finished fourth in the long jump, tied for the high-point score among the league’s men and shared the Cliff Harper Trophy with Kentucky distance runner Luis Orta.
The Arkansas men and Florida women were overall team champions.

Click video to hear audio