Finalists for Gillom, Howell trophies announced

By The Associated Press

JACKSON — This year’s roster of finalists for the Gillom and Howell trophies, given to the state of Mississippi’s top college basketball players, has a familiar feel.

All three finalists for the inaugural Gillom Trophy last year — winner Alexis Rack of Mississippi State, Southern Miss’ Pauline Love and Bianca Thomas of Ole Miss — are back.

And the 2009 winner for the Howell Trophy, Mississippi State’s Jarvis Varnado, is a finalist again. He is joined by Ole Miss’ Chris Warren and Jackson State’s Garrison Johnson, the Southwestern Athletic Conference player of the year.

The awards will be given out March 29 in a ceremony at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum.

The trophies are sponsored by Cellular South.

Click video to hear audio