ICC’s basketball MVP is Jason Marks

Itawamba Community College won its third straight north division title this past season in men’s basketball and that hasn’t happened at the College in 35 years. The Indians put an official wrap to its 2008-09 campaign by handing out awards at its annual banquet and the team MVP was Jason Marks of Little Rock, Ark. The Southeastern Louisiana signee also grabbed the ICC Rebounding Award (8 rpg).

Pontotoc’s Gary Dixon, who led the team in scoring at 15 points a game, was named the Offensive Player of the Year. Head Coach Marty Cooper was thrilled at the Southeastern Louisiana signee’s turnaround this past season after he scored only 21 points during his entire freshman season. Former Tishomingo County High School standout, Josh McCalmon, was named the ICC Defensive Player of the Year.

The Assist Leader was Nettleton’s Pierre Hadley (4 apg), who also led the team in steals (1.8 spg) while the Indian award went to Texas Tech signee, Theron Jenkins of Flowood (13.5 ppg, 5 rpg). The Sophomore Awards went to Houston’s Greg Pulliam and Nick Luttrell, who was the third Indian this year to sign with the D ‘I program, Southeastern Louisiana.

Cooper added all seven of these sophomores received a nice plaque, which included the accomplishments of a 49-13 record in their two years at ICC, won back to back north division titles and captured the MACJC State Championship a year ago.

Here’s the list of award winners:

MVP, leading rebounder Jason Marks

Offensive Player of the Year Gary Dixon

Indian Award Theron Jenkins

Defensive Player of the Year Josh McCalmon

Assist Leader Pierre Hadley

Sophomore Awards Nick Luttrell and Greg Pulliam

ICC Media Relations

Click video to hear audio