Kirui, Robertson of Ole Miss win SEC Outdoor Track And Field awards

By Ole Miss Media Relations

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Ole Miss track and field senior distance runner Barnabas Kirui was named the Southeastern Conference Men’s Runner of the Year, and freshman jumper Ricky Robertson was selected as the Men’s Freshman Field Athlete of the Year the conference office announced Monday.

Kirui scored in three different events at the SEC Championships and picked up a total of 22 points on his way to winning the Commissioner’s Trophy.

He finished in second place in the 3,000 meter steeplechase after posting a time of 8:51.13 before taking third in the 10,000 meters with a time of 29:40.13. In his final event of the meet, he turned in a second-place finish in the 5,000 meters with a time of 14:06.88.

Kirui also won the individual title in the 5000 meters earlier in the season at the prestigious Drake Relays with a time of 14:14.49 to collect his third Drake Relays title of his career, joining former Ole Miss All-American Brittney Reese as the only two Rebels in school history to accomplish that feat.

Robertson won the high jump at the SEC Championships with a height of 7-02.50 to become the first Rebel in school history to win the event at the meet. Robertson won the high jump at every meet in which he competed, which included a victory at both the Drake Relays and the Florida Relays.

His mark of 7-05.75 at the Florida Relays set a school record and was the top mark in the NCAA this season.

Click video to hear audio