MSU announces all-century hoops team

By Brad Locke/NEMS Daily Journal

Mississippi State announced its All-Century basketball team on Thursday, and now fans can help determine the best of the best.
Twenty former players were selected by a panel, with the likes of Bailey Howell, Jeff Malone and Lawrence Roberts headlining the list. It’s part of MSU’s celebration of its 100th basketball season.
Fans can visit to vote on a “starting five,” which will announced in February. They can also choose from a list of 10 games to pick the five greatest games in MSU history.
The All-Century team was chosen by a 15-person panel comprising former coaches and players, media members, current basketball staff members and athletic personnel. They winnowed down a 43-man nomination list to come up with players representing every decade since the 1950s – from Coyte Vance (1950-52) to Jarvis Varnado (2007-10).
Every MSU home game this season will feature an honorary captain, while selected games will feature fan promotions.
MSU’s 2011-12 season tips off Nov. 7 versus Eastern Kentucky.

Coyte Vance, Jim Ashmore, Bailey Howell, Joe Dan Gold, W.D. “Red” Stroud, Leland Mitchell, Ray White, Rickey Brown, Wiley Peck, Jeff Malone, Greg Carter, Cameron Burns, Tony Watts, Erick Dampier, Darryl Wilson, Dontae’ Jones

Click video to hear audio