MSU baseball coach on national finalist list

Miss. State coach John Cohen.

Miss. State coach John Cohen.

After guiding Mississippi State to 51 wins and a runnerup finish at the College World Series, MSU’s John Cohen is a finalist for the 2013 National Coach of the Year Award.

The other finalists include Brad Hill (Kansas State), Dan McDonnell (Louisville), Brian O’Connor (Virginia), John Savage (UCLA), Tracy

Smith (Indiana), and Rick Vanderhook (Cal State Fullerton).

The winner will be announced on Wednesday.

Cohen previously won the award in 2006 after guiding Kentucky to the

SEC title and an NCAA post-season berth.

Click video to hear audio