MSU’s Banks earns All-America honors

By NEMS Daily Journal

Mississippi State has an All-American streak going.
Senior cornerback Johnthan Banks was named to the Associated Press All-America second team on Tuesday, making it three consecutive years the Bulldogs have placed a player on that squad. Fletcher Cox was a third-teamer last year, and Derek Sherrod made the second team in 2010.
Banks was not a first-team pick despite winning the Jim Thorpe Award last week; that goes to the nation’s top defensive back. He’s recorded 59 tackles and four interceptions this season for MSU (8-4), which will face No. 21 Northwestern (9-3) in the Gator Bowl on Jan. 1.
No. 2 Alabama had four players on the first team, including center Barrett Jones, who became a two-time first-team selection.
No other team had more than two players selected to the first team. The Tide also led with six players chosen to all three teams.
Notre Dame, Texas A&M, Stanford and Florida were second with four players on the three teams, though linebacker Manti Te’o was the only Fighting Irish player to make the first team.
Alabama faces top-ranked Notre Dame in the BCS championship game Jan. 7.
Texas A&M Heisman Trophy winner Johnny Manziel was the first-team quarterback.
Wisconsin running back Montee Ball and Georgia linebacker Jarvis Jones also became two-time All-Americans.
SECleads the way
Nine Southeastern Conference players made the first team, more than any other conference. The Pac-12 was second with six players on the first team. No other conference had more than two.
The team was picked by a panel of 16 AP college poll voters.
Barrett Jones, a senior who made the All-America team as a tackle last season, was joined on the first team by Alabama teammates guard Chance Warmack, linebacker C.J. Mosley and cornerback Dee Milliner. Offensive tackle D.J. Fluker was picked to the second team and quarterback AJ McCarron was selected to the third team.
Te’o, the Heisman finalists and winner of seven other awards — including the Maxwell, Nagurski and Butkus — is the first Notre Dame defensive player to be an AP All-American since defensive back Shane Walton in 2002.
Manziel is the first freshman to make the first team at quarterback. On Saturday, the redshirt freshman know as Johnny Football became the first freshman to win the Heisman Trophy.
Manziel set an SEC record with 4,600 total yards to rank second in the nation.
Contributing:Brad Locke

Click video to hear audio