Ole Miss expands Mullins Award candidate pool

OXFORD — The University of Mississippi athletic department has agreed to expand the candidate pool for the Chucky Mullins Courage Award to include all upper class students.

The previous 21 Chucky Mullins Courage Award recipients have been seniors. However, the coaching staff suggested that the field also include juniors to provide a larger group of players from which to select.

Football head coach Houston Nutt said leadership can come from everywhere and the university wants to be sure that the winners all meet the qualities that Mullins stood for.

The award was established in 1990 by the Phi Beta Sigma fraternity at Ole Miss. It honors Mullins, who was paralyzed after making a tackle in 1989. Mullins died in1991.

The Associated Press

Click video to hear audio