Parsons, Donovan, Jones honored on AP All-SEC team

By The Associated Press

ATLANTA – Florida’s Chandler Parsons has been selected as player of the year on The Associated Press All-Southeastern Conference team.

Parsons was a unanimous choice to the team announced Monday, picked by a regional media panel.

Billy Donovan was picked as coach of the year after leading the Gators to the regular-season title. Kentucky freshman Terrence Jones is the selection for top newcomer.

The SEC’s leading scorer, John Jenkins of Vanderbilt, is another unanimous pick for the first team. Rounding out the elite five are Jones, Alabama’s JaMychal Green and Chris Warren of Ole Miss.

The second team includes Kentucky freshman Brandon Knight, Georgia’s Trey Thompkins, Tennessee’s Scotty Hopson, Alabama’s Tony Mitchell and Florida’s Erving Walker.

AP All-SEC men’s basketball team
The Associated Press

The 2011 Associated Press All-Southeastern Conference men’s basketball team released Monday, with name, school, position, height and class (u-unanimous choice to first team):


u-Chandler Parsons, Florida, F, 6-10, Sr.

u-John Jenkins, Vanderbilt, G, 6-4, So.

Terrence Jones, Kentucky, F, 6-8, Fr.

JaMychal Green, Alabama, F, 6-8, Jr.

Chris Warren, Ole Miss, G, 5-10, Sr.


Brandon Knight, Kentucky, G, 6-3, Fr.

Trey Thompkins, Georgia, F, 6-10, Jr.

Scotty Hopson, Tennessee, G, 6-7, Jr.

Tony Mitchell, Alabama, F, 6-6, So.

Erving Walker, Florida, G, 5-8, Jr.


Dee Bost, Mississippi St., G, 6-2, Jr.; Tobias Harris, Tennessee, F, 6-8, Fr.; Kenny Boynton, Florida, G, 6-2, So.; Rotnei Clarke, Arkansas, G, 6-0, Jr.; Festus Ezeli, Vanderbilt, C, 6-11, Jr.; Trevor Releford, Alabama, G, 6-1, Fr.; Jeffery Taylor, Vanderbilt, F, 6-7, Jr.


PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Chandler Parsons, Florida

COACH OF THE YEAR — Billy Donovan, Florida

NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR — Terrence Jones, Kentucky

Click video to hear audio