PCL changes error to double, nullifies no-hitter against Memphis

By The Associated Press

DES MOINES, Iowa — The Pacific Coast League has nullified a no-hitter thrown by Omaha pitcher Luis Mendoza after changing a ninth-inning error to a double.

The Triple-A league says Wednesday that the Memphis Redbirds requested that it review an at-bat by Tyler Greene in the bottom of the ninth of Monday’s game in Memphis.

Greene smacked a ball to deep left field that was misplayed by Omaha’s David Lough. Lough was given an error, but the official scorer changed it to a hit shortly after the game.

An hour later, the play was again ruled an error.

The league says it awarded Greene a double after reviewing replays and speaking with officials who were at the game.

The ruling wiped out what would have been Mendoza’s second no-hitter thrown in PCL play.

Click video to hear audio