Rebels claim six individual titles at Drake Relays

By NEMS Daily Journal

DES MOINES, Iowa – The Ole Miss track and field team won the most individual titles in school history at the prestigious Drake Relays when the Rebels racked up six over the weekend from Drake Stadium.
Ole Miss captured two individual titles in the jumps as sophomore Caleb Lee and freshman Ricky Robertson won their respective events. Lee won the long jump with a distance of 24-11.00 and defeated his closest competition by over six inches. Robertson claimed the crown in the high jump after posting a height of 7-03.25.
Freshman sprinter Mike Granger won the 100 meters with a time of 10.48 and junior Lee Ellis Moore finished in first place in the 400 meter hurdles after turning in a time of 50.23.
Martin Kirui won the 3000 meter steeplechase after posting the second-fastest time in school history with a mark of 8:46.68.
Barnabas Kirui matched the success of his brother by winning the individual title in the 5000 meters with a time of 14:14.49.

Click video to hear audio