Rebels, Golden Eagles join eight-team field for tourney in Mexico

Ole Miss and Southern Miss will be in the field for the eight-team Cancun Governor’s Cup men’s basketball tournament, set for Dec. 22-24 at the Poliforum Benito Juarez in Cancun, Mexico.
Other teams in the field: Appalachian State, Colorado State, East Tennessee State, Northeastern, Saint Louis and Texas State.
“We are pleased to launch the Cancun Governor’s Cup with these eight teams,” said Clint Overby, senior director of events, ESPN Regional Television. “This event is a wonderful showcase for Cancun and we’re excited for the teams and their fans to be able to enjoy all that the area has to offer.”
Seven of the teams played in the 2009-10 postseason, with East Tennessee playing in the NCAAs and Ole Miss reaching the Final Four of the NIT.
The tournament will feature 12 games through three days. Each team will compete in one game per day, advancing through a bracket-tournament format. The two teams that remain undefeated will face off in a championship match.
For ticket or travel information, visit

NEMS Daily Journal

Click video to hear audio