State lands three, Ole Miss two on All-SEC

By Daily Journal, wire reports

Alabama and LSU are in a dead heat once again.
The defending national champion Crimson Tide and reigning Southeastern Conference champ Tigers each placed 11 players on the preseason Coaches All-SEC teams. The league released the teams on Thursday.
The Tigers have a league-high seven first-team picks. That’s three more than Alabama, which beat LSU to claim the national title. That includes four on the defensive side, led by Heisman Trophy finalist Tyrann Mathieu and fellow defensive back Eric Reid. Linemen Sam Montgomery and Barkevious Mingo are also projected to earn first-team honors.
Arkansas had 10 players earn recognition, including quarterback Tyler Wilson, tailback Knile Davis and receiver Cobi Hamilton on the first team.
Of the 87 players selected, 50 come from the more dominant Western Division – where Alabama and LSU reside – including 21 of 28 first-teamers.
Mississippi State had three players selected. Cornerback Johnthan Banks was a first-team pick on defense and a second-teamer on special teams as an all-purpose player. Offensive guard Gabe Jackson made the second team, while defensive tackle Josh Boyd was third team.
Ole Miss had two players selected, both on the third team: defensive back Charles Sawyer and punter Tyler Campbell.
Of the SEC newcomers, Texas A&M had three first-team selections and seven total, while Missouri had four selections, all third-teamers.
The SEC Media Days for football will begin next Tuesday in Hoover, Ala.

Coaches Preseason All-SEC Team
QB Tyler Wilson, Sr., Arkansas
RB Marcus Lattimore, Jr., South Carolina
RB Knile Davis, Jr., Arkansas
WR Da’Rick Rogers, Jr., Tennessee
WR Cobi Hamilton, Sr., Arkansas
WR Ryan Swope, Sr., Texas A&M
TE Philip Lutzenkirchen, Sr., Auburn
OL Alex Hurst, Sr., LSU
OL Luke Joeckel, Jr., Texas A&M
OL D.J. Fluker, Jr., Alabama
OL Larry Warford, Sr., Kentucky
C Barrett Jones, Sr., Alabama
DL Jadeveon Clowney, So., South Carolina
DL Sam Montgomery, Jr., LSU
DL Corey Lemonier, Jr., Auburn
DL Barkevious Mingo, Jr., LSU
ILB C.J. Mosley, Jr., Alabama
ILB Nico Johnson, Sr., Alabama
OLB Jarvis Jones, Jr., Georgia
OLB Sean Porter, Sr., Texas A&M
DB Tyrann Mathieu, Jr., LSU
DB Bacarri Rambo, Sr., Georgia
DB Eric Reid, Jr., LSU
DB Johnthan Banks, Miss. State
Special teams
P Brad Wing, So., LSU
K Caleb Sturgis, Sr., Florida
RS Tyrann Mathieu, Jr., LSU
AP Dennis Johnson, Jr., Arkansas

QB Aaron Murray, Jr., Georgia
RB Eddie Lacy, Jr., Alabama
RB Zac Stacy, Sr., Vanderbilt
WR Justin Hunter, Jr., Tennessee
WR Emory Blake, Sr., Auburn
WR Odell Beckham, So., LSU
WR LaRod Kind, Sr., Kentucky
TE Chris Gragg, Sr., Arkansas
OL Alvin Bailey, Jr, Arkansas
OL Chance Warmack, Sr., Alabama
OL Chris Faulk, Jr., LSU
OL Gabe Jackson, Jr., Miss. State
C T.J. Johnson, Sr., South Carolina
DL John Jenkins, Sr., Georgia
DL Devin Taylor, Sr., South Carolina
DL Jesse Williams, Sr., Alabama
DL Sharrif Floyd, Jr., Florida
ILB Jon Bostic, Sr., Florida
OLB Alonzo Highsmith, Sr., Arkansas
OLB DeVonte Holloman, Sr., South Carolina
DB Robert Lester, Sr., Alabama
DB D.J. Swearinger, Sr., South Carolina
DB Prentiss Waggner, Sr., Tennessee
DB Matt Elam, Jr., Florida
Special Teams
P Steven Clark, Jr., Auburn
K Drew Alleman, Sr., LSU
RS Andre Debose, Jr., Florida
AP Johnthan Banks, Sr., Miss. State

QB A.J. McCarron, Jr., Alabama
RB Spencer Ware, Jr., LSU
RB Christine Michael, Sr., Texas A&M
WR Malcolm Mitchell, So., Georgia
WR T.J. Moe, Sr., Missouri
TE Michael Williams, Sr., Alabama
OL Jake Matthews, Jr., Texas A&M
OL Dallas Thomas, Sr., Tennessee
OL Xavier Nixon, Sr., Florida
OL Elvis Fisher, Sr., Missouri
C Travis Swanson, Jr., Arkansas
DL Josh Boyd, Sr., Miss. State
DL Dominique Easley, Jr., Florida
DL Abry Jones, Sr., Georgia
DL Damontre Moore, Jr., Texas A&M
DL Rob Lohr, Sr., Vanderbilt
ILB Alec Ogletree, Jr., Georgia
ILB Daren Bates, Sr., Auburn
ILB Jelani Jenkins, Jr., Florida
OLB Zaviar Gooden, Sr., Missouri
OLB A.J. Johnson, So., Tennessee
DB Dee Milliner, Jr., Alabama
DB Charles Sawyer, Jr., Ole Miss
DB Akeem Auguste, Sr., South Carolina
DB E.J. Gaines, Jr., Missouri
DB Sanders Commings, Sr., Georgia
Special Teams
P Dylan Breeding, Sr., Arkansas
P Tyler Campbell, Sr., Ole Miss
K Zach Hocker, Jr., Arkansas
RS Dustin Harris, Sr., Texas A&M
AP Bruce Ellington, So., South Carolina
Note: Ties were not broken.

Click video to hear audio