State’s best players will be announced today

By NEMS Daily Journal

Who are the best college basketball players in the state of Mississippi?
We’ll find out today, as the Howell and Gillom trophies are presented at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame in Jackson. The awards luncheon begins at 11:30 a.m.
Finalists for the men’s Howell Trophy are Mississippi State senior guard Dee Bost, MSU junior forward Arnett Moultrie and Southern Miss sophomore guard Neil Watson.
Bost was a finalist last season; Bulldogs have won the award four times since the first presentation in 2005.
Finalists for the women’s Gillom Trophy: MSU senior guard Diamber Johnson (Pontotoc), Ole Miss sophomore guard Valencia McFarland and Delta State senior forward Veronica Walker.
Walker was the 2011 Gillom Trophy winner andcould join Alexis Rack (MSU, 2009-2010) today as a two-time winner.

Click video to hear audio