Three players selected as finalists for Ferriss Trophy

By The Associated Press

JACKSON — Southern Mississippi’s Tyler Koelling and B.A. Vollmuth, along with Mississippi State’s Jarrod Parks, are the three finalists for the Cellular South Ferriss Trophy, which is given to the state’s top college baseball player.

Koelling, a senior from Luling, La., leads the Golden Eagles with a .374 batting average and 17 doubles.

Vollmuth, a junior from Biloxi, Miss., leads USM with 12 homers and 47 RBIs.

Parks is batting .396 this season, which leads the Southeastern Conference. The senior from Madison, Miss., had a 21-game hitting streak earlier this season.

The finalists were selected by 25 voters, including college coaches, MLB scouts and a media member. The winner will be announced May 23 at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame.

Click video to hear audio