Tupelo's Daniels accepts January NeMissPreps award

By NeMissPreps.com

Tupelo Cross Country runner Christina Daniels recently won an online vote to become the second NeMissPreps.com MVP.

The THS freshman is no stranger to honors after being named the state’s Gatorade Cross Country Runner of the Year for 2011 by ESPN High School.

“She works very hard and she is always trying to improve,” said Tupelo coach Anna Sloan.

Daniels, the first THS runner to win the honor, led the Lady Wave to the Class 6A state championship with her first-place finish of 15 minutes, 8.5 seconds in November’s state cross country meet at Mississippi College’s Choctaw Trails in Clinton.

Daniels finished third overall as a freshman at this season’s annual Foot Locker South Region Championships. She placed second overall at the 2010 state meet as an eighth grader. She is running track this year for the Golden Wave.

“I try my hardest every day in practice,” she told the Daily Journal’s Gene Phelps in a story earlier this year. “I will continue to do that.”

Daniels won the NeMissPreps.com online vote in a very close race with Ingomar ‘s Denzel Siddel. Others in the running were – Corinth ‘s Cullen Grantham and Pontotoc ‘s Quinndella Ford

Congratulations to Christina and thanks to all who voted and to those who were in the nominated for MVP honors!

Voting for the February NeMissPreps.com MVP is going on now on the front of the site.

The first NeMissPreps.com MVP was Aberdeen football standout Channing Ward.

NeMissPreps is a website about Everything High School Sports.

It contains stories and photos from the Northeast Mississippi Daily Journal and other Journal Inc. publications.

Players can create free profiles on the site that can be digital scrapbooks with stories and photos of them.

Anyone interested in being a NeMissPreps.com editor and helping keep up with an area high school should contact Todd Vinyard at todd.vinyard@journalinc.com.

Here are this month’s NeMissPreps.com MVP award candidates. Voting ends at 5 p.m. tomorrow.

New Albany’s Jazmine Spears

Ripley’s Becca Ruckes

Booneville’s Kenny Paul Geno

Baldwyn’s Reggie Patterson

Click here to vote under Chalk Talk section on the front of NeMissPreps.com.

Click video to hear audio