UPDATE: SEC names Morris, Pomeranz top players

By The Associated Press

BIRMINGHAM — Auburn first baseman Hunter Morris is the Southeastern Conference’s baseball player of the year.

Ole Miss’ Drew Pomeranz was honored as the top pitcher in balloting by the league’s 12 head coaches. Florida third baseman Austin Maddox is freshman of the year.

The honors were released on Tuesday.

Kevin O’Sullivan, who directed Florida to the SEC regular-season title, was chosen coach of the year by his peers. Auburn’s Cory Luckie is the scholar-athlete of the year.

Click video to hear audio