UPDATE: Three finalists for Ferriss Trophy named

JACKSON – Ole Miss pitcher Scott Bittle, winner of last year’s Ferriss Trophy, is among three finalists for the award given to the top college baseball player in the state.

Infielder Brian Dozier, a Fulton native, of Southern Miss and Belhaven pitcher Craig Wescott are the other finalists announced Monday. The trophy will be awarded during a ceremony next Monday evening at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum.

The award, sponsored by Cellular South, is named for former Boston Red Sox great Boo Ferriss, who is expected to attend. Organizers also will honor Southern Miss coach Corky Palmer, who recently announced his retirement.

Finalists and the winner are chosen by a panel of major league scouts, college coaches and a media member.


The Associated Press

Click video to hear audio