Race for mayor expands; Ward 4 race develops

RIPLEY- The mayor’s race gained one more candidate, and a race has now developed in Ward 4 for the upcoming city elections. Henry L. Robinson qualified to run for mayor, and Lou Ann Rowland qualified to run in Ward 4, this week, according to city records. The following people have qualified. All have qualified as Democrats. The symbol (I) denotes incumbent. Mayor: Mike Harrison (I), Kerry W. Hill, James Keenon, J. D. Meadows, Henry L. Robbins. Alderman Ward 1: Sherill McCoy (I). Alderman Ward 2: Randy Windham (I), Quess Hood. Jon Grisham, David Miller, Homer Richardson. Alderman Ward 3: Gilroy Bails (I). Linnie Selmer Hoyle, Lonnie M. Smith. Alderman Ward 4: Wade Crawford (I), Lou Ann Rowland. Alderman At Large: Bonnie Caviness (I), Ken McCoy. The cut-off for qualifying is Friday, March 6 at 5 p.m., City Clerk Vernor said. The deadline for registering to vote in party primaries is Saturday, April 4 at noon. The Ripley absentee voting period begins Saturday, March 21, and runs until Saturday, May 2 at noon. The first primary election will be held Tuesday, May 5. The primary run-off, if needed, will be held Tuesday, May 19. The general election is Tuesday, June 2. Newly elected, or re-elected, city officials take office Monday, July 6.

Hank Wiesner/Southern Sentinel