South Tippah School Board recognizes five teachers

RIPLEY – The South Tippah School Board took care of the following items of business during its meeting Monday night. Trustees: –Recognized five special guests. They included Ripley Elementary School 2nd teacher Lori Chapman, Ripley High School 9th grade English teacher Shanna Vaughn and Blue Mountain Elementary School 5th and 6th grade teacher Heather Meadows, who are the district’s most recent National Board Certified teachers. Pine Grove elementary school teacher Annette McBryde was recognized as the district’s Teacher of the Year. Blue Mountain High School English teacher Martha Kent was recognized for recently being inducted into the Hall of Master Teachers at Mississippi University for Women. The Hall was established in 1991 to recognize educators for excellence in teaching. –Rehired all district officer personnel for the coming year. Those rehired were Food Service Supervisor Beverly Baylis, Homebound Teacher Twila Goolsby, Payroll/Accounts Pay/Property Manager Sondra Graves, Technology Director/Web Design Al Graves, Assistant Food Service Supervisor Shirley Greer, SPED/District Secretary Pat Long, Business Admin/ Administrative Assistant Nancy McGee, School Nurse Rosemary Reed, Consultant Lou Ann Miskelly, Transportation/Alt. School Director Greg Richardson, Director of Student Achievement Robin Chapman, SPED Co-Ordinator Karen Churchill, OSB Maintenance Stan Kuykendall, and Federal Programs/ Curriculum Coordinator Jane Taylor. –Hired John David Eaton as a long-term substitute at Blue Mountain School.

Hank Wiesner/Southern Sentinel